Skip to content

NaPoWriMo 6

April 7, 2012

link to NaPoWriMoWoke up with a sore head and a list of jobs to do.  My sister and family are arriving for the weekend so there will be a lot of us in the house.  I’m really looking forward to it.  I was stuck for a poem so I decided to simply cut and paste a poem that I’d written before.  Then I re-read a Charles Bukowski poem that I’ve got on my wall.  I love the way he simply describes what is going on.  What I get from his poetry is a kind of ‘fuck you, this is what it is’ take it or leave it attitude.  I often try and second guess what people will like and then try and please some self-created audience.  He doesn’t.  So, after reading his poem ‘the weak’, I thought I’d simply describe my day today.

Easter activities

here are my thoughts about today
I woke up with a hangover
I worried about the health of my friend
I worried about the state of my finances
I bought screws to fix the sofa
I lusted after a b-b-q
that I’d never use
I bought some screws
I bought some bird seed
coz I like watching the birds
peck at the feeders
whilst the cats
vainly patrol
hoping to catch one
I cleaned the toilet
We have 11 people in our house
this weekend
and I want it to be clean
I tried to fix the hoover
but failed due to a part
the shop didn’t stock
I scrubbed the bathroom
I spent £200 pounds in
the supermarket
I took paracetamol
I made lasagne
and allowed the meat to cook
for two hours
allowing a flavour
both deep and intense
to emerge
I put on 3 lots of washing
and wished the sun would shine
so it would dry our clothes
rather than
using the tumble dryer
I told the kids not to eat
in the lounge as
I’d just cleaned it
but then changed my mind
as it provided us an
opportunity
to sit together
as a family
and eat and enjoy each others company
then more family arrived
and we are 11
all family
all together
enjoying each others company
I bought kindling
so that we could have a fire
that was unnecessary
but was a focal point
whilst we shared stories
of family
in a house with a clean toilet
and a sofa
that no longer wobbles
We have 11 people in our house
this weekend

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

ultimatemindsettoday

A great WordPress.com site

The Allen Adventure

Just another WordPress.com site

O at the Edges

Musings on poetry, language, perception, numbers, food, and anything else that slips through the cracks.

Bruitt Up

I want my life to be composed of first times

Gotta Find a Home

Conversations with Street People

Don Charisma

because anything is possible with Charisma

adoptingjames

Read our Mission. Find out how you can help us adopt James.

larondedelivres

Le blog de Sabrina

ultimatemindsettoday

A great WordPress.com site

BHP Comics

Expanding the culture of comics

Lynette Noni

Embrace The Wonder

Otrazhenie

Reflection

A Stairway To Fashion

contact: ralucastoica23@gmail.com

annamosca

Poetic Landscapes Of The Spirit

TIPPR Blog

A blog of original content and reviews

Be Privy

To My Thoughts

Kim Koning

Writer, Deadlines & Dead Bodies

THIS DAY, THIS SONG

The easiest way to discover a new song every day.

