Skip to content

NaPoWriMo 7

April 8, 2012

link to NaPoWriMoTechnology.  A couple of generous fellow bloggers have started to follow me.  Many thanks to them.  I’m sorry that I haven’t so far returned any of these compliments because I haven’t yet learnt how to.  I will do, I simply need to find the appropriate tutorial.  So please don’t take offence if I haven’t so far.  There’s nothing like having to put something up here every day to force me to learn.  I have learnt how to put a picture into the blog.  So as a treat for all, I’ve put in a picture of a cow (there is a farming theme to the poem).  I took the picture in the Lake District and then messed about with it using Paint.net  My thoughts behind this photo is how much can I mess it up and yet still leave the image instantly identifiable.

Poetry.  Today’s poem follows an incident we had when we visited a farm.  We’d gone to this farm as we needed somewhere quiet to put up our new acquisition, a folding caravan.  It was made in 1979 but is in good condition.  My sister and my brother-in-law were passing it onto us as they’ve finished with camping.  All farms have dogs and as we drove up the drive we were greeted by this one…

Farm dog

you greet us with fierce barking
eyes rolled back
lips curled
teeth bared
confining us to our car

you’re young
lithe
dirty
fur matted
with cow dung
that you’ve gleefully rolled in

but when the farmer arrives
swearing
‘Get back Jess’
your demeanour changes
as if a switch has been flicked
running to him
on your haunches
begging for approbation
tail tucked under
your skinny body
eyes only on him
your alpha male

He is a puppy
and when you’re
shown affection you
instantly fall on your back
only wanting tickling fingers
to scratch your belly
transporting you
from guard dog
to softie

 

Blurred cow

A picture of a cow that I've played about with in paint.net

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

ultimatemindsettoday

A great WordPress.com site

The Allen Adventure

Just another WordPress.com site

O at the Edges

Musings on poetry, language, perception, numbers, food, and anything else that slips through the cracks.

Bruitt Up

I want my life to be composed of first times

Gotta Find a Home

Conversations with Street People

Don Charisma

because anything is possible with Charisma

adoptingjames

Read our Mission. Find out how you can help us adopt James.

larondedelivres

Le blog de Sabrina

ultimatemindsettoday

A great WordPress.com site

BHP Comics

Expanding the culture of comics

Lynette Noni

Embrace The Wonder

Otrazhenie

Reflection

A Stairway To Fashion

contact: ralucastoica23@gmail.com

annamosca

Poetic Landscapes Of The Spirit

TIPPR Blog

A blog of original content and reviews

Be Privy

To My Thoughts

Kim Koning

Writer, Deadlines & Dead Bodies

THIS DAY, THIS SONG

The easiest way to discover a new song every day.

