Skip to content

NaPoWriMo 22

April 22, 2012

Technology: Many thanks to the Aquaponic family for helping me with my napowrimo logo link issue.  The logo on the left is a link to the NaPoWriMo website.  If I’ve got it sorted then you should be taken there.

People & Poem: I was spending an enjoyable evening with some friends and we were talking about poems and poetry, specifically the enjoyment of free verse and rhymed/metered/structured verse.  Most of my stuff isn’t rhymed or structured but I have done a few.  I like the discipline that it imposes but it takes more time and thought.  Napowrimo is good because it forces me to write more quickly, become less precious about the production of a poem and ensures I get one written.  However, I do have other work that I haven’t put on here that does have rhyme structure.  So this is one for my readers who like rhymes.  I wrote it back in January for a performance at the end of January when new year resolutions are becoming a distant memory.

Fitness First

Cos Ive done the Atkins Diet
Cos I’ve done the Slimfast plan
Slimming tea I thought I’d try it
Tastes like compost, shit and bran

Cos I’ve done the fitness centre
Cos I’ve done the slimming belt
Cos I’ve done the step Aerobics
Til I thought I’d fuckin melt

Cos I’ve done the food combining
Cos I’ve tried the veg detox
Seven times a day – raw cabbage
Til my farts could stun a fox.

Bloody New Year resolutions
Burning calories in the gym
Delude myself  that I’ll emerge
Toned and tanned and slim

Release me from this foolishness
It’s not fun unless your straight
Enough! From now my mantra is
Drink wine! Eat chocolate! Sleep late!

2 Comments
  1. Clicking on the logo took me to http://www.napowrimo.net/

    Glad I could help.

    Like

  2. Thanks for that. Hope you enjoyed the poem.

    Like

Leave a Reply

ultimatemindsettoday

A great WordPress.com site

The Allen Adventure

Just another WordPress.com site

O at the Edges

Musings on poetry, language, perception, numbers, food, and anything else that slips through the cracks.

Bruitt Up

I want my life to be composed of first times

Gotta Find a Home

Conversations with Street People

Don Charisma

because anything is possible with Charisma

adoptingjames

Read our Mission. Find out how you can help us adopt James.

larondedelivres

Le blog de Sabrina

ultimatemindsettoday

A great WordPress.com site

BHP Comics

Expanding the culture of comics

Lynette Noni

Embrace The Wonder

Otrazhenie

Reflection

A Stairway To Fashion

contact: ralucastoica23@gmail.com

annamosca

Poetic Landscapes Of The Spirit

TIPPR Blog

A blog of original content and reviews

Be Privy

To My Thoughts

Kim Koning

Writer, Deadlines & Dead Bodies

THIS DAY, THIS SONG

The easiest way to discover a new song every day.

