Skip to content

June 6th part two. What? Another one!

June 7, 2012

I find it difficult enough sometimes to write during the day so all the work takes place in the evening after all the usual chores are done.  It got so late last night that by the time I posted, it was well after midnight.  So today I thought I’d try and pace it a little better.  However my earlier posting this evening is due more to two of my children having sleepovers.  This has reduced my domestic workload by at least 50%.  The usual activity levels have tailed off earlier than normal.  However!  I’ve had a load of problems with the Internet crashing so although I endeavoured to publish this before midnight, it just hasn’t happened.

Today I wanted to write something which was shorter than normal and conformed to a stricter meter.  I was aiming for twelve lines and a strong rhyme.  I wanted to do shorter as I’ve been reading some good poetry by Jacob Polley.  There is such a lot of depth in his work and a lack of extraneous words.  Saying more with less is a real skill.  Something I still have a lot to learn about.  The stricter meter and stronger rhyme I imposed on myself is largely because I watched a programme about John Cooper Clarke, the original punk poet.  This link is to the BBC’s brilliant documentary about him.  So today’s poem is a combination of both these influences mixed with my more mundane domestic concerns.

Finally, I’ve been learning more about wordpress.  I’ve changed my header photo and decided to add some photos I’ve put on Flickr as a widget.  I hope you’ll take a look.

Typical Day

New day.  Enter fray.
Don’t shirk.  Time to work.

Jobs done, errands run.
Keys found, homeward bound.

Teas made, table laid.
Kids eat.  Running feet

Slam doors, escaping chores.
‘Come back!’ Threaten smack.

Wash up, broken cup.
Just one?  No harm done.

Snores deep.  Children sleep.
Lets stop.  Time to flop.

Drink wine.  Glasses chime.
Bed time?  I need mine.

From → June 2012, Poetry

3 Comments
  1. That was a fantastic documentary – which the volume got turned up. Thank you for blogging the link

    Like

Leave a Reply

ultimatemindsettoday

A great WordPress.com site

The Allen Adventure

Just another WordPress.com site

O at the Edges

Musings on poetry, language, perception, numbers, food, and anything else that slips through the cracks.

Bruitt Up

I want my life to be composed of first times

Gotta Find a Home

Conversations with Street People

Don Charisma

because anything is possible with Charisma

adoptingjames

Read our Mission. Find out how you can help us adopt James.

larondedelivres

Le blog de Sabrina

ultimatemindsettoday

A great WordPress.com site

BHP Comics

Expanding the culture of comics

Lynette Noni

Embrace The Wonder

Otrazhenie

Reflection

A Stairway To Fashion

contact: ralucastoica23@gmail.com

annamosca

Poetic Landscapes Of The Spirit

TIPPR Blog

A blog of original content and reviews

Be Privy

To My Thoughts

Kim Koning

Writer, Deadlines & Dead Bodies

THIS DAY, THIS SONG

The easiest way to discover a new song every day.

