Skip to content

NaPoWriMo – April 24 Hurrah! I’ve caught up!

April 24, 2013

napo2013buttonIf I could whoop, I would.  I’ve tried whooping and hollering but they just come out very self-consciously.  I’ve seen and heard Americans whoop and holler.  It  seems to come naturally, an enthusiastic noise of approval against which my Hurrah! comes out rather cold and standoffish, very English really.  I don’t know what the Asian equivalent is especially as ‘Asia’ covers so many different nationalities, people and cultures.  Maybe someone could let me know.  Nevertheless whatever noise I choose to make I make it enthusiastically as I’ve done it.  I’ve caught up and I’m happy.  It means that at long, long, last I can have that cigarette I promised myself when I finished, rather like James Caan in Stephen Kings Misery.

So I will be back to producing a fresh poem tomorrow but for now I’m happy in the knowledge that I’ve made the effort and caught up, a triumph of will, flipping the finger at my depression.  Hope you enjoy.

Cryptic tea

 

The instruction stuck on the fridge door

Simply gave page number 144

Was it a clue for our midweek tea

But why the cryptic mystery?

 

Jamie, Delia or fucking Ramsey

Rustic chic or something fancy.

I rifled through our recipe books

The often used, the overlooked.

 

Boiled beef and dumpling, treacle tart,

Salmon en croute ordered a la carte?

Fiery curry or cooling sherbert?

What was it? Starter, main or dessert?

 

By now I’m angry and frustrated

Why make this meal so complicated?

I don’t want to solve a cryptic clue,

Work out whether it’s cake or stew!

 

Stop! Now! I need food that soothes and calms

Embraces me in it’s loving arms

Chorizo soup is what I favour.

Its smoky heat and dark flavour

 

Paprika sausage is where I start

It’s hot, sweet warmth like a lovers heart

Simmered and served with grated egg

A rough cut piece of handmade bread

 

And what of that taunting 144

The cryptic catalyst on the door?

A maths problem my son had to solve

What’s  the answer to twelve times twelve?

If you are interested in the recipe you can see it here.  It was really nice, the kids liked it and I even took a photo!

picture of chorizo and chickpea soup

From → NaPoWriMo 2013

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

ultimatemindsettoday

A great WordPress.com site

The Allen Adventure

Just another WordPress.com site

O at the Edges

Musings on poetry, language, perception, numbers, food, and anything else that slips through the cracks.

Bruitt Up

I want my life to be composed of first times

Gotta Find a Home

Conversations with Street People

Don Charisma

because anything is possible with Charisma

adoptingjames

Read our Mission. Find out how you can help us adopt James.

larondedelivres

Le blog de Sabrina

ultimatemindsettoday

A great WordPress.com site

BHP Comics

Expanding the culture of comics

Lynette Noni

Embrace The Wonder

Otrazhenie

Reflection

A Stairway To Fashion

contact: ralucastoica23@gmail.com

annamosca

Poetic Landscapes Of The Spirit

TIPPR Blog

A blog of original content and reviews

Be Privy

To My Thoughts

Kim Koning

Writer, Deadlines & Dead Bodies

THIS DAY, THIS SONG

The easiest way to discover a new song every day.

