Skip to content

NaPoWriMo – April 30

April 30, 2013

napo2013buttonSo this is it, my last post for NaPoWriMo 2013.  It felt different to last year, not easier or harder.  I’ll try to quantify it.

  1. More people followed and liked my work than last year.  I’m very grateful and I hope I have reciprocated sufficiently.  I have liked when I’ve genuinely meant it and commented (hopefully constructively) when I’ve been honestly motivated.
  2. I’ve read more widely than I have done last year and enjoyed a greater range of other people’s blogs.  Food, shopping, fashion, lifestyle, photography, poetry (especially), fitness spirituality and even those annoying ‘Hi! My name is Shitface McTwat and I love your blog.  Follow mine and I’ll show you how I travel the world making a paltry amount of money whilst posting photos showing what a conspicuously shallow and unconvincing life I lead!’
  3. I’m pleased with some of my poems, I particularly enjoyed April 8 Fluoxetine 20mg capsules x 2.  Being my own worst critic means that I felt as if I cheated by doing Haiku for my catch up; even though I’m really pleased that I put the effort in and caught up.
  4. I’ve enjoyed sharing in the journey of NaPoWriMo.
  5. A special thanks to Bruce who has determinedly followed me, despite my lack of regular posting outside of NaPoWriMo
  6. I feel a little sad and lost in the sense that I need another writing challenge to keep me motivated.  If anyone has any suggestions, please let me know.

So this is my last post, unless it isn’t.  I have written a triolet which aims to sum up NaPoWriMo.  It also meant I spent a lot of today trying to get it to work and resist the desperate urge to use the line ‘I’m stuck on the triolet’.

Farewell NaPoWriMo 2013

What has taken up most of my time?

Whisper it, NaPoWriMo.

Fight every day to find the right rhyme.

What has taken up most of my time?

Writing blank verse or tightening a line

Sometimes easy but usually slow.

What has taken up most of my time?

Whisper it – NaPoWriMo.

 

Thank you everyone. G’night

From → NaPoWriMo 2013

6 Comments
  1. Glad to know I wasn’t the only one laboring over the rhymes!
    Hi! My name is Ms. M and I love your blog. I don’t care if you follow my blog, in which I’ll show you how I don’t travel the world making any amount of money whilst posting stories showing how I struggle with the muse and the mundane, continuously getting nowhere.
    I hope you find some inspiration to continue – maybe once a week or month? I follow the prompts at Writeonedge and http://www.trifectawritingchallenge.com but they are not specifically for poetry but may prove useful.

    Like

    • Thanks Ms M for your generous comments and suggestions. Maybe a series of photos demonstrating how I’m not even earning a pittance blogging, set in various exotic locations in my house such as the chair with the cat hair on. Keep it real!

      Like

  2. LOL. Love the triolet–and completely relate. It’s been fun reading your poems this month. And I appreciate the context you provide for them. Well done!!! Hope to keep seeing you around…

    Like

  3. Many thanks Karin. I’ve enjoyed your poems too and the contexts that have inspired them.

    Like

  4. Bruce Ruston permalink

    Your Welcome I have enjoyed this month poetry from you and everyone who I have visited.

    Like

  5. shanesbookblog permalink

    It has been an Honor to read some of your work during NaPoWriMo. You certainly inspired me several times and for that I Thank you!

    I also appreciate you taking the time to check out a few of my poems during this incredibly joyful event… and the feedback you left me helped to give me some motivation and some encouragement!

    This was my first year composing Poetry and sharing it with the world…but it will certainly not be my last!

    I learned so much about Poetry and Writing and I even found out more about myself, who the real ME is.

    NaPoWriMo was a blast and the people I met and encountered (Including you) have made life enjoyable again and I am so thankful for the hardworking and beautifully talented people like you who put so much energy and effort into there work during National Poetry month, Thank you for your work!

    Like

Leave a Reply

ultimatemindsettoday

A great WordPress.com site

The Allen Adventure

Just another WordPress.com site

O at the Edges

Musings on poetry, language, perception, numbers, food, and anything else that slips through the cracks.

Bruitt Up

I want my life to be composed of first times

Gotta Find a Home

Conversations with Street People

Don Charisma

because anything is possible with Charisma

adoptingjames

Read our Mission. Find out how you can help us adopt James.

larondedelivres

Le blog de Sabrina

ultimatemindsettoday

A great WordPress.com site

BHP Comics

Expanding the culture of comics

Lynette Noni

Embrace The Wonder

Otrazhenie

Reflection

A Stairway To Fashion

contact: ralucastoica23@gmail.com

annamosca

Poetic Landscapes Of The Spirit

TIPPR Blog

A blog of original content and reviews

Be Privy

To My Thoughts

Kim Koning

Writer, Deadlines & Dead Bodies

THIS DAY, THIS SONG

The easiest way to discover a new song every day.

