Skip to content

NaPoWriMo 8

April 24, 2014

National Poetry Writing Month 2014Wow! Two posts in two days and I’m a mere 16 poems behind! Can he do it? Will he do it? Has the world of blogging ever been so pre-occupied with this question? Unlikely.  Still, I will do what I can to catch up.  Today it was about grabbing opportunity whilst it presented itself.  I’ve mentioned before that I go to many meetings.  To be fair, many of the are very important and their purpose is to ensure the ongoing success of the organisation that employs and pays me, so I can pay my bills, support my children etc.  But sometimes, a conjunction of thoughts, environment, how I’m feeling and in this case terrible coffee; provide me with the impetus.

 

Corporate coffee cups

 

Tepid coffee.

Bitter as acorns.

From the lips of men

To the lips of cups.

Liquid dries into stain,

marking the meeting’s measure.

Desiccating discussion.

Sugared spoons slowly

Sticking themselves to saucers.

 

Corporate coffee cups.

Hiding enervating refreshment.

I have suffered less tedium than you.

Stained and wearied

your clinking

a manacle reminder

of our joint chain gang.

We share our exit

only leaving when we break.

 

From → Poetry

Leave a Comment

Leave a comment

ultimatemindsettoday

A great WordPress.com site

The Allen Adventure

Just another WordPress.com site

O at the Edges

Musings on poetry, language, perception, numbers, food, and anything else that slips through the cracks.

Bruitt Up

I want my life to be composed of first times

Don Charisma

because anything is possible with Charisma

The Official Colonel Sanders Podcast

An All American Rags to Chickens Story

ultimatemindsettoday

A great WordPress.com site

BHP Comics

Expanding the culture of comics

Lynette Noni

Embrace The Wonder

Otrazhenie

Reflection

A Stairway To Fashion

imagination is the key

annamosca

Poetic Landscapes Of The Spirit

TCzuWrites

A blog of original content, musings, and reviews

Be Privy

To My Thoughts

Kim Koning

Writing dark things…Sometimes it takes a villain…

THIS DAY, THIS SONG

Being your daily music routine since 2012.

Geo Sans

“right answer, wrong question”

Jenna Emmerich Photography

Memories that last