Skip to content

NaPoWriMo 9

April 24, 2014

National Poetry Writing Month 2014Sadly my Father-in-law died last year.  Although he was suffering from a degenerative illness his actual death was a sudden shock.  He and I weren’t alike.  He was reliable, practical, unassuming and I enjoyed his company.  This was a poem that I wrote to commemorate him.  His precence in my life was a blessing and I miss his quiet humour and steadfastness.

Jack’s Drill

 

A gift from my father in law.

My inheritance.

A small collection of blown plastic cases

contain the soul of the man I knew.

A sander, drill bits,

a battery powered drill.

 

I hold the drill.

It’s functional shape

containing the potentiality for creation.

It was carefully chosen;

no doubt research was undertaken

to find the right tool for the job.

A physical compliment

to the man that chose it.

 

It’s unassuming size masks

the power held within.

Capable of surmounting any task,

bringing to fruition

the form

of ideas held within

the wielder’s hand.

 

Capable, practical, unassuming

ready at a moments notice.

Not for showing off

but for worthwhile assignments.

 

Well maintained,

it’s intrinsic value

understood and respected.

Kept in a protective case

and only available to those

who had the eyes to

understand its substance.

 

Jack, I share so few of your traits

but I was always happier for your company.

So now, even though you have gone,

when I hold this drill

it’s solid practicality

a physical memorial with which

I’ll remember you.

From → Poetry

Leave a Comment

Leave a comment

ultimatemindsettoday

A great WordPress.com site

The Allen Adventure

Just another WordPress.com site

O at the Edges

Musings on poetry, language, perception, numbers, food, and anything else that slips through the cracks.

Bruitt Up

I want my life to be composed of first times

Don Charisma

because anything is possible with Charisma

The Official Colonel Sanders Podcast

An All American Rags to Chickens Story

ultimatemindsettoday

A great WordPress.com site

BHP Comics

Expanding the culture of comics

Lynette Noni

Embrace The Wonder

Otrazhenie

Reflection

A Stairway To Fashion

imagination is the key

annamosca

Poetic Landscapes Of The Spirit

TCzuWrites

A blog of original content, musings, and reviews

Be Privy

To My Thoughts

Kim Koning

Writing dark things…Sometimes it takes a villain…

THIS DAY, THIS SONG

Being your daily music routine since 2012.

Geo Sans

“right answer, wrong question”

Jenna Emmerich Photography

Memories that last